What We Can Learn From The Women In Iran

Camille Prairie
3 min readSep 27, 2022

Why aren’t we taking to the streets en masse?

Photo by kilarov zaneit on Unsplash. Author’s Note: I could not find any royalty-free pictures of the protests.

Before we dive in, I want to have a moment of respect and remembrance for Mahsa Amini and Hadis Najafi, both killed in striving for their own liberation, and all Iranian women and women around the globe killed under the hands of their oppressors.

“I am not free while any woman is unfree, even if her shackles are very different from my own.”-Audre Lorde

I think it’s worth asking what can be learned from Iranian women. They are facing an incredible amount of violent pushback under the thumb of a cruel dictatorship that is impossible for most US citizens without Iranian heritage to imagine.

And still, they fight back.

They are fighting for their right to self-express. Their right to their bodies.

Sound familiar? Maybe there was a somewhat large US Supreme Court ruling recently regarding a woman's right to her body. Not ringing any bells?

I remember in the days following Roe v. Wade reading articles about what now. What do we do?

--

--

Camille Prairie

NC-based freelance-writer and semi-functional 25 year old navigating what it means to be an adult. Find me at https://camilleprairie.co