5 Things an Invaluable Copywriter Will Do

From solving problems to keeping it short, we’re wannabe writing wizards

Camille Prairie
4 min readSep 5, 2023
PC: Karolina Grabowska

A good copywriter can increase your sales by 240%, as reported by Lately AI. We’re not wizards, but we are undervalued in the current economic conditions, particularly with the dawn of AI itself. As many people in my circle wrestle with clients jumping ship for ChatGPT-generated articles, I wanted to outline 5 things talented copywriters do that set their work apart from OpenAI-generated blog posts.

1. Solve a problem

Whenever I sit down to write, what is my audience coming to this page looking for? What service are they looking for that brought them here — and what information can I give them that will solve their existing problem?

Businesses are supposed to solve problems for people, and writers and our social media marketing counterparts often find that when we don’t know what problem we’re solving, we lack a sense of direction or cohesion in our writing.

A great example of this is a current client I have. I’m getting to know their audience better, and I’ve learned they really cater to a certain type of professional.

Let’s say plumbers, for fun. I wasn’t aware of this before, so now I can better tailor my writing…

--

--

Camille Prairie

NC-based freelance-writer and semi-functional 25 year old navigating what it means to be an adult. Find me at https://camilleprairie.co